Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Chapel of Saint Ignatius the Sick

The Chapel of Saint Ignatius Sick, located in the Manresa square of the same name, has its origins in the year 1522, when Saint Ignatius of Loyola visited Manresa and was welcomed in a house of the Amigant family during his periods of illness. In 1703, the rooms of the house were converted into a chapel by order of the descendants of the family. However, the chapel suffered damage during the War of Spanish Succession in 1713 and during the Civil War in 1936. It was restored and reopened in 1946, and in 2015 it was protected as an Asset of Local Interest and profoundly rehabilitated. This chapel is an important site on the Ignatian Way, recalling the stay and spiritual experience of St. Ignatius during his time in Manresa. Inside, it highlights a cross on the wall, protected by a glass, which according to tradition was drawn by the saint himself.

 

    • Address
      Plaça de Sant Ignasi Malalt, 2, Manresa, Barcelona
    • Web
      http://www.manresaturisme.cat/ang/article/7307-chapel-of-saint-ignatius-the-sick
    • Visiting Hours
      Everyday from 10:00 to 20:00
    • What to see
      Cross depicted by St Ignatius

This post is also available in: Español Italiano

Leave a Comment